twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

Out to work; on the bike on a decent day. I backtracked to an uncommon start point of Wester Drylaw / Craigcrook before a more usual schlep through Trinity, Leith and into Craigentinny. With the bulk of the work done, there was still the small matter of a long drag around the Southside and Wester Hailes for a couple. Hardly efficient, but when you get a mileage rate and paid by the hour who am I to complain?

I eventually rolled up to Her's for a very late lunch at around 3 and some sort of notional work was done...

She was off with Her lass to Jack Wilshire Whitehall at the Playhouse, so I treated the dog to a leisurely stroll across the Meadows and then set about some scallops I'd procured on my travels (Colinton Mains)

She arrived home to take control of the hound and I headed for home; just the minor discussion with the guy who overtook my doing 40 in a 20, before turning off across me - the classic left hook! As it was a cul de sac, I also turned left and asked why he was in such a hurry as to necessitate such a dangerous manouvere. (He also had his phone on his lap, open). We established that if there had been no traffic, he wouldn't have done 40mph, and if there had been a car doing 30 (as I was) then he wouldn't have overtaken it as he had me.

"So what makes me so special then that you feel the need to prove yourself as master of the roads against a mere vulnerable cyclist?  One who's got children, parents, partner, uncles, nieces etc that you put in danger for no reason?" I think he got my point when I said this. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.