and through the wire...

By hesscat

Should I Tuggay Or Should I Throw

My weather app said it was a sunny sky when I went out for this evening's walk, pah! Last year we began our switch from throw/chase games to find/tug games for several reasons and we are about 90% there (river-stick-throw can't be avoided). It took time to build up Arlo's value of tug games and it is currently "very good". To make it excellent he needs to want to play tug more than anything else, like chasing a squirrel/rabbit/deer, and I am not sure that will ever be achievable, but we are almost there with "chase a deer's scent" at least.

Arniston's Sunken Garden is his favourite place for a game of tug, most times (not today) I send him off around the path to meet me as I try to run down the step hill without slipping followed by games at the bottom. He especially loves it when I let go (don't tell him) and I chase him in circles, always watching me with some side eye as I get close, that's probably our favourite part of the walk. I am allowed to chase, not him! And usually 10 mins of that uses up his energy store and he's happy to saunter around the rest of the walk and I then appreciate that it is not a sunny day as it can fair puggle me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.