Flying-leap

By flying

There's an art.....

....to getting those morsels, a leg up, a tilt of the head and torso (see extra) and plunge the beak down into the sand until it just about disappears! Think the grub was long gone before the beak appeared. The bird is a Variable Oystercatcher (Torea) in it's black phase. 

Lovely afternoon beach walk for mum and I. Bit breezy on the sea side but warmer on the estuary side. We ambled along, surprised to see the beach littered with stones, the air was heavy with sea salt while the sea was reasonably calm, even a bumble bee was at the beach today. I've added some extras, Mt Grey was a delicate blue as it was shrouded in haze :)

This morning I pruned my roses, I only have a few so not a huge task but glad it's now done. I discovered peonies breaking ground and my astrantia is on the move, very exciting!

Tuesday....bright and sunny day, light nor-easterlies in the afternoon, 11C, dropping to -1C tonight, frosty.

Happy Tuesday everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.