Life through the lens...

By ValC

Tick- tock.

Our kitchen clock which we brought back from Provence a few years ago.
Now with my new hearing aides fitted this morning the tick tock sounds much louder!
Infact I can hear noises which I couldn’t before.
The lovely young lady who fitted them for me and spent nearly half an hour adjusting first the left and then the right ear, said it would take a couple of weeks for them to adjust to my hearing and also my ears to adjust to them.
I hadn’t realised that in the 9 years since I first had hearing aides my hearing had deteriorated so much. Although she said that it was also the technology that had come on too. These can adjust themselves depending on whether I am in a loud situation or a quiet one. I just find it amazing.
She said she wished they could get more people to have their hearing tested, and also those that have hearing aides to wear them all the time.
I know of two people ( men) who put them in a drawer, and only bring them out occasionally.
All this was provided free by the NHS. who also provide a free backup service. You can go every 6 months to have them serviced. Again free. Also free batteries.
MrC was very pleased the audiologists said he could come in with me as he found the whole procedure fascinating.
Once again my thanks to our NHS and the very caring audiologist at Dewsbury.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.