life of d

By davidd

Tommy Jessop goes to Hollywood

Remember the Hugh Grant Blip?

Last night at 9pm the BBC showed 'Tommy goes to Hollywood', a documentary about Tommy Jessop an actor with Downs Syndrome.

I was contacted a few months ago by Tommy's brother Will to ask if they could use one of my photos in the programme. 

I took the shot at a book launch for a former client Beyond Words, a charity who produce picture books to help people who cannot read (originally intended for adults with learning disabilities). Hugh Grant had sponsored the production of a book and had spent the day of the launch with a group of young disabled actors running acting workshops with them. He did this with no publicity, or public recognition.

I was there as we had just rebuilt their website or app or something. 
Naturally Hugh wasn't keen on having an arty portrait but was very happy to have his picture taken with the young actors and their parents/carers. So I became the unofficial photographer for the evening. Taking loads of shots of Hugh with loads of people.

Tommy however was shy, didn't know how to approach Hugh Grant so I suggested he nonchalantly sidled up to him and I'd take a shot at the right moment. Tommy was well up for this as you can see from the pictures.

The BBC documentary is really well worth a watch if you have an hour, Tommy is a total star, proof that if you really want something you can overcome all sorts of difficulties. He's really funny as well.

I appreciate this is a shot of a tv programme but strangely enough I have permission to use it, I made it the only condition when they asked if they could use the photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.