laralouisa

By laralouisa

Land Rover Conundrum

Our current guests have a brilliant Land Rover. Something we could really do with, to prevent the walks up and down the hill. Most days I enjoy it, but when we have litres of tap water to carry up it’s less fun. It sometimes feels like we’re collecting water from a well. I like to romanticise it as some sort of pilgrimage. In reality we’re just going to a tap beside the village public toilets.

Quite soon the walk will become more necessary as I start my new job at an environmental charity on the island. I suppose the Land Rover wouldn’t be the most sustainable move. But it would prevent my arm from being amputated. The water is actually the least of my worries come to think of it. Groceries, luggage, petrol canisters, new furniture, the list goes on.

I bought a bike last week, which really doesn’t help the situation. It isn’t even electric.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.