Flossmo

By Flossmo

Things wot I saw today

I was at my desk my 7 o'clock ready to write my piece for my creative writing group meeting. Given that I only had an hour or two I decided on an essay with the title 'Sometimes Truth is Stranger than Fiction'. The essay was an examination of what went so wrong in the case of Lucy Letby. My conclusion was that only the people who were able to look at the facts in an objective, scientific way could see what was happening. The remainder were blinded by the appearance of a nice, quiet, seemingly normal young woman. And that had the most terrible consequences. 

Once Mr Flossmo was up and breakfasted we drove over to Farnborough on a couple of errands. First on the list was a visit to the Halifax with a pile of out-of-date paper currency which I had discovered in an envelope at the back of a cupboard (a forgotten present from my mother in the months before she died). I didn't hold out much hope that they would exchange them for valid currency.  Imagine my absolute surprise when I was approached at the back of the queue by a young assistant who took me off to a paying-in station, told to enter my debit card and PIN, place the out-of-date notes in the paying-in drawer and Bob was my Uncle as the money was paid into my current account. I kept asking him if that was it. He said it was. When I told him it was 'truly magnificent service' he couldn't hide his smile.

We went on to buy a couple of other small items (okay I 'fess chocolate and biscuits) in the Princes Mead shopping centre where we stopped to listen to a small boy playing a paint spattered piano (see photograph). He was even mostly playing the right notes although not always  in the right order (as Eric Morecambe would say). But still it was marvellous to see a youngster tickling the ivories and fantastic to see a piano sat in the middle of a shopping centre.

Next stop was Cook in Farnham to get provisions for tomorrow's lunch when we have friends coming round.  Mr Flossmo did a couple of circuits of the one way system in his car whilst I went in and did the shopping. I was waiting outside for him to reappear when I saw the person in the strange red outfit waving to the traffic (see photograph). I have absolutely no idea why. The petunias (photograph) are part of the Farnham floral street arrangements and much appreciated.

Back home I met up with the lady who will feed Sky whilst we are away. All is organised. Then at 2pm I met with the creative writing folks. It was an interesting hour as it always is. We had a long discussion on the Letby case. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.