Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Getting Ready...

Usually by the first week of September, the male hummers are gone.  It's a quiet event and I can never pinpoint the exact day but I know it's coming, just as sure as I know I will see the first returning male hummingbird during the last week of April.  I will occasionally see a late-migrating male later in September but usually it's just females and juveniles after the first week.  So I can be forgiven for taking these opportunities to blip them in all their sparkly glory.

The x-rays of my feet showed some osteoarthritis in the big toe joints (which I knew about) but no signs of significant damage elsewhere which is great news.  I've decided that I will take the first dose of Methotrexate on Friday morning and start the Folic Acid the next day.  The latter will help to reduce the side effect of hair loss as well as a few other things.  In preparation for this next chapter in my life I've gotten some interesting looking botanical-based NA beverage mixers and found some fun-looking "mocktail" recipes.  I'm as ready as I'm going to be.

The first of two fencing contractors is here now to give us an estimate in fencing in part of our property.  I know it's going to be quite expensive, but having a dog with a strong prey drive coupled with bears doesn't make it optional.  And frankly, I will be happy to potter around in my garden without constantly looking to see if there is a bear lurking nearby.  

The first Republican presidential debate is tonight so Hubs and I will watch it.  Fortunately Mr Trump isn't going to participate (he would have to sign an agreement to support whoever ultimately gets the Republican nomination which we all know he will never do.). Not having all his noise and rhetoric will allow us to see what the other candidates are about.  Honestly, it's absurd that campaigning is allowed to happen in earnest this far ahead of the election, but what can you do?

I think dark with ginger today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.