Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Girlie jaunt

Much of today - another grey day, with sudden downpours - was spent Over The Water. Di announced the other day that she was going over to visit the hairdresser, my hairdresser, and in an opportunistic fashion I rang him yesterday and asked if I could piggyback a swift haircut onto her appointment, so I met her at the ferry and off we went. Two hours later we emerged - it's a lot quicker for me these days now that I'm not having hair colour - and popped into the wonderful Tonino's next door to the salon for a late lunch, and because it was so utterly enjoyable that's my photo for today. Bread and oils for two, along with a plate of roasted vegetables to share. The bread was freshly made, two different kinds, the oils were piquant and lip-smacking (a messy business, with oil!) and the vegetables neither hot nor cold but succulently just right. If you're ever driving through Greenock, it's just before you get to the big Catholic church and the railway bridge ...

We then did a quick scoot to Port Glasgow as she wanted food in M&S, where I found that they do Italian style sausages, so shall report soon if they're any good. Then into the peculiar hell that is TKMaxx to buy a dog bed (I think) and wonder at the extraordinary shoes on sale there, and to get absolutely soaked running through the car park. And then home, the ferry showing all the signs of the beginnings of Cowal Games visitors and bearing a large "Welcome to Argyll" on the fence at the ramp. 

I've been looking at Twitter ( I refuse to call it "X") to see reaction to the mysterious downing of a plane which seems to have been carrying Yevgeny Prigozhin. Who needs to look far for movie plots these days? 

I've also, on a far cheerier note, been looking at the photos of my grandchildren, who all attend the same school, posing before their first day back. It doesn't half bring home the passing of time - I can still remember taking my own sons' photos before P1.  Can I really be so old...?

Don't answer that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.