yvonnekgray

By Dollykgray

Mamma Mia Backblip

Huge mistake - I forgot my camera. Tears of frustration almost fell.
Every summer they have a musical at an outdoor venue by Neusiedler See, a large lake in eastern Austria. This year is Mamma Mia which was, as usual, a spectacular production with respect to the stage setting, lighting, singing and dancing. The text was translated into German which was not a problem as I knew the story so well that it didn’t matter if I missed a bit. Unfortunately, they translated the songs into German, as well. They didn’t sound quite right and I think it was unnecessary as the songs are so well known in English. Still, it has been the most successful production ever so far and they have scheduled extra shows.
Next year ‘s production is ‘My Fair Lady’ and I shudder to think what that might be like translated. Hopefully, they will use english phrases for the elocution lessons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.