Eye to Eye

By HilarysView

“ Come by”, on a Swiss Alp

I could hear a shepherd shouting British Sheep Dog trial phrases far above me, then I got spooked by huge boulders rolling and bouncing downhill towards me so I stopped until the shepherd came into view and I asked if I  could pass safely. His two Border Collies were darting all over the hillside. It was fascinating. He explained the dogs were only 2 years old and he had gone to Ireland to buy them, hence the “Come by” and “Lie down”. 

I was glad to be above them and continued to the old fashioned Plan Névé hut (extra) had tea before setting off for an airy Col des Chamois (extra). All went well as it was in shade to the top but crossing the Col, and for the next four hours, I was in relentless sunshine with not enough to drink really! The cows were not appreciating the heat either at La Vare (extra). 

Now I have sat in a cold bath and am about to have a serious nap before we go out for dinner with one of my yoga classes, a dinner organised by one of my enthusiastic, male, students. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.