TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

Pride? Before the fall?

Not too sure how much I like all this "back-to-school" shit - it seems like a bit too much work for the parents in my book. Today was Ottawacker Jr.'s medical visit to see whether or not we need to keep him on his preventative inhaler for asthma (he's not had an asthma attack since Manchester United were good). The answer is... "well, you could try it."

We're in full Pride mode here in Ottawa, which is usually fun, except fun isn't really an Ottawa concept. Nonetheless, I noticed his doctor, who is really nice, had made some sort of attempt at telling worried parents that she possibly knows more about medical conditions that they do. This obviously doesn't apply to me, as I am the fount of all knowledge. Or is it font? Actually, having just looked it up, it's both. So there. You can have that one for free.

After the 30-minutes-that-I-will-never-get-back meeting with the doc, it was time for lunch. I called up MP and somehow managed to confuse him into waiting at home for me rather that coming to meet us at the Manadarin Ogilvie for Dim Sum. Good job I called... A lovely meal was had, and while MP and Ottawacker Jr. were engaging in lively debate about buying a Cessna at 14 ("you should start saving up"), I managed to sneak more than my share of the pork Siu Mai and shrimp dumplings. Hey, you snooze, you lose. 

And no, he's not getting a Cessna. Ever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.