One moment please

By BikeShopNick

Retro Blip: 7/6 2113 Coffee shops & Countdown

Today I found a picture Taken 100 years ago to the day and it made me laugh. Ah well, hindsight is a wonderful thing!

It was an era which became known as the 'coffee shop years'. We saw a closure all the shops in favour of these cafes and iPhone shops. Previously, you could physically visit and buy from or browse in shops which sold old technology stuff. We stopped using most of this apart from bikes and books which nearly disappeared in favour of short-lived electronic versions. Can you imagine? ha ha!

Well the picture shows the addition of 2 chain coffee shops in an already caffeine soaked city of St Albans. It actually once rained coffee there as a result of evaporation from outdoor seating areas!

I digress; please forgive me.

After another decade they were gone. How could they have been so stupid. Everybody wised up and realised that they would have enough money for a nice holiday every year if they switched back to cups of tea and coffee around the kettle at work or home.

Drink through lids were found to keep drinks at a dangerously high temperature and were banned by the government of 2024, a 'Health and Safety Party' government if I remember correctly.

Oh well my memory is not what it used to be. At the age of 145 years I'm on my third pair of carbon fibre knees (on the NHS) and still riding my bike but oh how everything aches.

Incidentally the youngsters are having cutely named iPhone 205gti implants put in at birth on the NHS. I had to fork out for my iPhone 104d version 5 years ago but I get a free upgrade when I reach the age of 150 years.

Please understand my brevity here as I need to get into the air jacuzzi until Countdown starts. Actually I can watch it any time on my inner eyelids just by thinking of the name Richard Whitely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.