Edisteve

By edisteve

Friday culture

Making the most of my recently purchased National Trust for Scotland membership, I took myself off to Newhailes House (10 minutes away). Now, I have been to the grounds and blipped the outside of the palladian stately home a few times, but never been inside … maybe because I am too mean, but hey, I’m a member now.

Anyway, it was a most interesting tour, given by a very informed and friendly guide, Lynne. However, although the inside is glorious, there are a few tatty bits (some chairs, wall paper, paint etc.) and it appears that it is a NTS policy decision to only do what is necessary to a house and that it should reflect its full history and not undertake restorations that would take it back to a pristine 18th C look. I guess it’s a good thing, unless it gets too tatty or dangerous (see extra).

Additionally, for you ‘Outlander’ viewers, the house was seen as the House of Governor Tyron in North Carolina. The scene where Jamie discusses the land grants with the Governor.

The NTS also runs haunted house tours at the end of September, which Martin and I are booked on. Apparently, there are quite a few spooky tales to tell, and we get the opportunity to investigate the house in the dark with torches, while the tales are told … all very Scooby Doo.

I hope you have had a similarly enjoyable Friday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.