JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Boiling jelly

This is a very poor effort at ICM for Abstract Thursday, with steam on the lens adding to the effect. Unfortunately I have nothing better to share. I boiled a large batch of blackberry and apple jelly, its darkly bubbling centre surrounded by a vividly coloured foamy ring reflected in the stainless steel preserving pan. Fortunately the jelly is better than the photos, richly coloured and intensely flavoured.

It was an exceptionally heavy day, hazy with humidity, and after my online yoga class I largely did jobs indoors, then after M went home I supported J with the last part of her online chat with two friends and fellow AAC users. They have known each other for many years, meeting annually at residential events, then starting to stay in touch through social media, and in the past few years online meet-ups have become very important to J to preserve friendships and hold onto some semblance of a social life. The pace of conversation between three AAC users is inevitably slow, but they are infinitely patient with their access methods and with each other. My role was just to be J's BSL interpreter, though because I too have known her friends for a long time, I'm always interested in their news and can't resist joining in occasionally with my own questions.                                                                                                                                                                                                    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.