An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Back to my happy place…

Coped with my very early rise (of course I did, I was going to the Hebrides :-)

Very good breakfast in the hotel and efficient and friendly service. Checked out an in the ferry queue by 9am. Even the guys at the ferry terminal are friendly and the young lad who checked us in, was so cheerful and helpful, despite the rain lashing down in him!

Onto the ferry no problem and off to the shop to buy a book. I was looking for Peter May’s new one but they didn’t have it. Bought The Runaways instead then realised I’ve already read it so D took it and I hit his. Turned into s bit of a moot point anyway as the crossing was quite lively so I thought it best to keep my eyes trained on the horizon :-))

Off the ferry at 1.10pm and straight to Lews Castle in Stornaway for lunch. Afterwards a wander round the castle and shop then a trip to the Coop to get enough supplies to cover tonight’s dinner and tomorrow’s breakfast, and of course popped into Charley Barley’s to pick up some Stornaway black pudding. Yum!!
Then it was time to head to the airport to collect our friend P who had flown in from Inverness and continue our journey down to the holiday house in Harris.

It’s 18 years since P was last on Harris and Lewis and she’s glad to be back. It’s only a year since we were here and I’m also glad to be back. This place gets under your skin. It feels like coming home!

Around every corner the scenes that greet the traveller are tear inducing. So emotional. So beautiful.

As we turned into the Hushnish road the light hitting West Loch Tarbert was phenomenal and I took a load of photos. I had one all set to blip but decided to go with shots from Lews Castle instead as I love it there, plus I’ll be taking loads of seascapes so West Loch Tarbert will no doubt get blipped at some point this week.

Once in the cottage we were once again in awe at the views from the house. Unpacked the basics and had wine whilst waiting for the champagne to chill. P had asked us to pick up a bottle of champagne as she had a gift for us that needed champagne. Turns out it was a beautiful (and very delicious) bottle of Cassis fri her trip to Arran. Kir Royale’s all round! :-))

Dinner was simple salad and pizza and lots of lovely chat. This is our third time getting together with P and hopefully won’t be the last. All thanks to blip :-))

Bedtime now. Looking forward to waking up to the stunning view.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.