Peninsula Light

By PeninsulaLight

Late dB - desperation Blip - and a reminder to self, this camera's sensor needs a good cleaning, as does another.

The retro looking Nikon Df DSLR camera. Bit controversial to some. Typically, those that never owned one make the most noise. Personally I'm not bothered about all the allegedly 'traditional' dials and whatnot that are on the top plate. I don't use the top shutter speed dial at all. Would prefer the mode dial was just a button, but rarely move it from Manual mode. The ISO dial is awkward, and I'd prefer just a button rather an unlock button having to be pressed whilst you attempt to twist a dial at the same time. The vertical front dial isn't great, but I didn't buy the camera as a speed machine, so those things are not important to me. The things that were and still are important to me: it has a very good sensor; is the lightest Nikon full frame DSLR; there's none of yer video related complexity built into it or the menus; and I like it, warts and all.

A few years back, I just had it with a manual focus 35mm Zeiss lens mounted. Was asked/persuaded at effectively no notice to take a group shot of all the Staff at work. Well, those that didn't go and hide. Had to get everyone outside, and then I stood at the top of a stair to try and get them all in, and visible, in the frame. The boss noted the camera from a distance, and came to quiz me afterwards, "Is that a film camera?" I think he liked the idea that it could have been a film camera. We're of that era, film was/is good enough.

One other reason for Blipping the above. Nikon is rumoured to be about to introduce a new camera that looks a bit like it, that's mirrorless rather than a DSLR. Most likely a Zf - a bigger sensor version of their little Zfc camera. I like the talk of a quick switch that'll have you straight into black & white mode, but then I'm one of those folk that monochrome only cameras appeal to...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.