still trucking...

By johnsmiley1321

Just a yellow rose...

Spent a lot of time with my mom today... I brought her another bouquet of dahlias from her garden. When I first got there she was sitting at the table with everybody else waiting for the caregiver to help feed her breakfast. When she saw me she asked "I thought dad was coming with you today." Sigh... I helped the caregiver out and fed her breakfast while we talked. We then headed to her room and watched the local football game on the television. She has wanted a steak for a long time so I went down to a local place known for good food and got her a steak, baked potato with oodles of sour cream and a salad. I was grateful she was able to eat 1/3 of her meal as she is looking so thin. Quite a few other memory related issues today too but I just rolled with it the best I could. We didn't go for a walk because of the heat outside. When I left she wanted to go home too. I think that is the hardest part of seeing my mom, knowing she wants to go home but also knowing I can't take care of her the way the caregiver can.

Tomorrow will be a day of little things getting ready for the next work week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.