One way traffic

By Mobius

Surround Sounds 2 - Lute

40 minute concert in the Chapterhouse this morning at 9:30am. I was surprised but delighted to offer my second ticket to the gentleman standing, who is one of the main organisers of the festival and the SMCA (Choir Association). I've known him for 15 years and just the loveliest person too.

Pictured is a Chitarrone aka Theorobo, a long necked bass flute with a second pegboard mid neck, if you look carefully. Elizabeth Kenny also played a more conventional Renaissance Lute


She was accompanied by Baritone and Festival Director, who started off as a chorister here and Soprano Alison Rose. The pieces were all 16th and 17th century including by Henry Purcell.

I spotted the Founding Festival Benefactor there too (glimpsed in one picture), who I see lives in Lord Byron's old childhood house on The Burgage in Southwell.

The small octagonal space of the chapter house really showed off Marcus's voice; the most enjoyable I'd ever heard him sing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.