Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Alleyways

In advance of joining an evening photographic event at Didcot Railway Centre with live steam I took the opportunity to visit Oxford for the day.  Unusually for me, I also had some sort of objective / plan / project in mind - exploring some of the ancient alleyways.

In the end I probably spent more time exploring the Ashmolean museum (a fascinating and interesting visit) and photographing the more popular tourist sites. Though I did manage to sort out three ancient lanes for a triptych; two of Bullwark's Lane which passes between Nuffield College and St Peter's College, and the one on the right of the delightfully named Magpie Lane with a glimpse of the University Church of St Mary the Virgin at it's top end.

The evening photoshoot was a great success, and seemed to be enjoyed by the 30 photographers who attended. Along with 3 engines in steam, we had enactors, lights and smoke machines to provide additional atmosphere as the evening progressed through late afternoon, sunset into night (with a rain shower thrown in!) - it's going to take some time to process the many shots I took!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.