One day at a time

By MikeSlade

Charity

People involved in farming are, from personal experience, very good. They work hard, often play hard and endure what is occasionally a lonely and depressing life. They also rise to occasion when someone is in need. Today a gathering of farming people came with their tractors, tractor units (HGVs) and other vehicles to raise money for a local breast cancer charity. 
They stopped for half-an hour at our village in pouring rain. They had a drink and a chat before heading back to The Tone for an auction. I was told one prize was for £150-worth of whisky. I hope they raise a substantial sum.
This tractor is equipped for forestry work with safety cage and log grabber. I don’t know how much this would cost to buy but it must be in the region of £150,000. There were other far bigger tractors there, and much simpler ones from a bygone age. There were many units here, several million pounds-worth I should think. 
I’ve put in a few extras because I could decide which to choose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.