David J. Rose

By djrose007

"Last Train to San Fernando"

You have to be above a very special age to get that title, an old Johnny Duncan and the Bluegrass Boys song but my favourite cover of it is by Lonnie Donegan and his Skiffle Band. Yes, you need to be knocking on a bit to know what a Skiffle band is too!
What I didn't know is that it is originally a calypso, I always presumed 'San Fernando' was in Mexico, or maybe New Mexico in the States, I've thought that for 70 years until today! Although there is a San Fernando in many places I've found, the one in the song is in Trinidad & Tobago.
https://youtu.be/sdkz-rZs3s0?si=CvZN34EgfcnvxWRz

My initial comment was going to be about the loooong train that Buddy had put together, reminded me of the long wait in Arizona as a mile long train trundled it way across the crossing, but I get distracted so easily and my mind goes off on a tangent!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.