Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Daan saafh

Well here I am daan saafh again. I arrived in Hampton some ten hours after leaving Oban on the 8.57 train this morning. I always wonder why they couldn't have made it easier by leaving at 9am!

The ride into Glasgow was fine - I spent the time talking to a man from Northern Ireland who worked in London, so we had plenty to chat about.  The London train from Glasgow Central was very quiet for once and I forsook my booked windowless window seat for a table on my own, until someone got on to what had become a very busy train - after collecting hordes of passengers in the Lake District - and said that I was in her seat. I had no option but to give it up, but found a seat further down the carriage opposite a very harassed father with two young boys. I somehow got the temporary job of helping to amuse them! I was glad to reach Euston and to walk out into the sunshine of Euston Square, my Blip today.

A quick connection from Euston to Waterloo on the Underground and then on the suburban train to Hampton, where I was pleased to be picked up by my sister and taken home for a cup of tea!

Next time I shall try to get a seat in the quiet carriage - or splash out on First Class!! Not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.