KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Nursery Visit

It was my last day of teaching my summer Plant ID class at the community college. I've really enjoyed class this summer - a really super group of students. 

After they took their final plant ID test this morning, we headed out to Cistus Nursery which I've mentioned/blipped before. It's owned by Sean Hogan, the president of the botanical garden. He was kind enough to invite me to bring my class on a tour of his garden. He's an amazing plantsman, horticulturalist, plant collector, teacher and gardener. He's traveled all over the world, lecturing, collecting...and his garden is an extraordinary showplace of climate appropriate plants. We have an interesting climate here - quite Mediterranean...that is bone dry in the summer (typically July - September) and of course rather rainy the rest of the year, although not that cold. So the students learned a lot, and I did too. It was a murky day, but here's a couple of shots!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.