SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Hamburg

When conferences announce their dates, one has to assume that they have a full program on the first day. However, in this case, the only thing on the first day is this evening's welcome reception. So I had the day to explore Hamburg.

I woke at 07:00, so decided to head off for the 7km run around the Aussen-Alster lake. I got too hot, but was moving well for longer than in Oxford: progress, and I'd cleared my head after the beers I'd had with И  last night. After a shower, I headed for the docks area, hired a bike, and ended up having lunch in the St Pauli area. That's where the Reeperbahn is, and the Star Club (of Beatles fame) used to be. It's also the home of FC St Pauli, one of Europe's notable far-left football clubs. I bought a tee shirt from its excellent fan shop.

On my way back to the hotel, I passed through the very attractive Wallanlagen parks (pictured). I needed another shower when I got in, and I'm now waiting for И to be ready to leave for the reception 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.