AMK49

By AMK49

Wheat harvesting

Returning from a call I decided to take the scenic route past the farm where I was brought up and which had been in our family for about 70 years till my brother retired. 
I spied this combine working in a neighbouring field and in fact it is the father of the young man driving the combine who bought the farm which lies in a valley just beyond the trees.

I have taken photos of this New Holland CX7080 before - very impressive to watch and somewhat different from the ancient Massey Harris 780 special we had and that I sometimes drove.! 

In the far distance can be seen in the extra the runway of Leuchars airfield which is now an army base rather than RAF . Planes used to use our valley when coming in to land and as young boys my brother and I would have an excellent vantage point not far from where the blip was taken to watch the annual Leuchars air show.

One of my early memories is of a Hawker Hunter jet coming very low over the farm one morning as I was about to go to primary school - it was very low cloud and sadly the jet hit a tree and crashed in one of our fields killing the pilot. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.