Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Kingfisher galore

As mentioned yesterday, today I went to Abcoude, to "Ruige Hof" where a special hut has been created to watch and photograph kingfishers. Eddy, a coworker at Fotografie-Reizen, invited me to join him and Rene (also a coworker). Great banter as always on the way there, but once we had installed ourselves in the hut, we had to be quiet of course to not disturb the birds. In the end, I think we saw two or maybe three different kingfishers. All the photos I have uploaded to Blipfoto are from one and the same bird, who kept flying back and forth between the nest and a branch. In the "in-flight" shot (in the extras), the kingfisher was on his way (I think it's a male) from the branch to the nest, but made up his mind and returned, allowing me to get a good sharp image at the moment he turned around in the air.

All three of us usually do landscape photography and this is something completely different. Definitely a fun thing to do once and while so I might be having another go at this some day. Thanks Eddy for inviting and Rene as well for the good company and all the laughs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.