Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Tiny Floating Seeds

I actually did hold them in my hand because they were stuck in Spike's tail and I had to comb them out. It would have been easier to see how tiny they are if I had showed them in my hand, but they were barely visible. The filaments in between the seeds are Spike's hairs. These aren't at all prickly and are clearly designed to float through the air until they find a place to plant themselves. As many of you know, I am fascinated by seeds and the various ways plants manage to perpetuate themselves.

Another tiny creature is in extras...a tiny damselfly called a bluet. There were two of them flitting around our pond but they were obviously far more interested in each other than they were in my camera and it was too hot to hang around out there for long. One finally landed on a papyrus plant and rested long enough for me to take a picture.

Today has been one of those days where everything seems to happen at once and I feel like a crazy person running from one thing to the next. I hasten to add that my comfort zone is generally no more than two scheduled activities a day. Today I had four...Pilates on the floor at 9, interrupted by a call from the dermatology clinic asking if I could come on 'the 29th' for surgery to remove what is, as suspected, a squamous cell carcinoma from my ankle. Of September, I asked and she said no, August. That's today  I  and I said and I just rescheduled a dentist appointment for that time. We settled on Sept 12.

The dentist is never there to have a look at my teeth after Candy, the hygienist cleans them. I love Candy and she does a good job, but I'm seriously considering changing to another dentist in hopes of actually seeing them.

From the dentist I raced home, picked up Spike, and took him to see 'Doc' the animal opthalmologist. It was really hot driving over Fountaingrove for the second time in two days, weaving through a variety of roadworks, tree trimming closures and a major landscaping project tying up critical intersections. Thanks to yesterday's trip it was possible to figure out a fairly unobstructed route. Spike was good as usual, albeit it somewhat unenthusiastic.Doc was pleased with his progress, and said he didn't have to come back for six months. I still have to put ointment in his eyes at bedtime to prevent his eyes from drying out since she says he isn't particularly motivated to close his eyes and she doesn't want them to dry out. 

Another $400 lighter in the pocketbook, the trip home was uneventful. The thermometer in the car said it was 95F but the airconditioning works fine. I'm not sure what the temp is in Spike's compartment in the back but he doesn't seem to feel the heat as much as Ozzie did.

For event number four, we're meeting Kathy and Mike for dinner at a ramen place downtown. John is searching high and low for two t-shirts I gave him as part of his birthday gift, insisting that they are 'gone'. This doesn't seem possible but I'm leaving him to it....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.