WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Where've you come from, Tutti Frutti?

I was going to call my ride 'A trip down Oddies Lane' because said lane was a new one on my bike but once I had climbed up a little way, I realised in Little Dog's younger days, we'd done a huge hike over Ingleborough, up onto the Whernside ridge and followed it down until it met the road where we both plodded in the heat back to Ingleton.  It was a grand and tiring day out.

When I saw a sign for Twistleton, I also realised that many moons ago, we'd parked somewhere along here to go climbing.

This was therefore the third fabulous outing along here and the quality of tarmac on the tiny road reminded me of the route over Malham.  On top of all of this, I had a tailwind whichever direction I turned - from Bentham station up to Ribblehead, down to Horton, left to Pen-y-ghent, Halton Gill and a quick stop at Burnsall before home.  

The pitstop was where the new title came in.  I joined a couple of individual cyclists at a table outside in the shelter from the wind.  One had a broken bike, the other was eating an ice cream and made a lovely comment about my 'snazzy' cycling shirt.  While I was tucking into my ham sandwich and vaguely listening to their conversation, I registered 'And where've you come from... 

...Tutti Frutti?!"

Which gave me a wry smile as I answered and I chuckled much of the way home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.