The Finish Line

Okay, this is going to be tough to translate.
We have a thing going on in Holland that we call the 'avond vierdaagse' which basically translates into the 'evening four days'
Mostly groups of kids walk a 5 or 10 kilometer track through their town and close environment for four evenings in a row. This happens in every town in Holland and is a big national event.
On the final night - tonight - they are being welcomed like heroes during the last mile and receive many flowers from waiting family and friends.

As I almost live on the town square it was unavoidable not to hear thousands of screaming and singing kids reminding me I almost forgot it was tonight.

The band - the Drum Guards from Delft!!! - had come all the way by bus to Haarlem to welcome the children on their round of honor on the square.

Later on I spoke the band members in a taco joint and promised to send them my 'New Delft Blue' photo's.

Have a nice weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.