Idioms

Heavy rain, gusty winds and the risk of flooding are whats happening today as what is left of Tropical storm Andrea crawls up the east coast.

My Blip is shot from my bedroom window and is of the patio in the yard. I do love photographing water droplets even though I'm not too happy about all this rain!
It's now officially hurricane season and Andrea is the 1st named storm. After going through Hurricane Sandy last year I'm sure people are paying closer attention to this year's storm forecasts.

You have probably heard the expression 'Under the weather'. I was wondering where this expression came from. I happen to have a sore throat today and was curious how the weather had any impact on being sick.
Well I was surprised to find out that it is just and idiom and has nothing to do with the weather. Well, not directly. Historians think it started back when people traveled by way of the sea. During bad weather the ships would rock and people would get seasick. They were forced to go UNDER the deck due to the WEATHER.
Hopefully my sore throat is just a mild inconvenience. At least I'm not rocking back and forth in the middle of the ocean while Andrea creates her havoc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.