Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Small Tortoiseshell #9

This morning was spent driving my Mum around the local garden centres and nurseries looking for a shrub to replace an old lilac. She wanted something that didn’t grow too big, didn’t need much maintenance in the way of pruning, had flowers that were scented if possible and maybe evergreen too.  I’d spent ages researching shrubs and come up with a Daphne called Eternal Fragrance that fitted the bill, but I wanted one that was a decent size, not a 15cm pot that would take years to fill out. We started at Grasslands just outside Knutsford thinking that a 4.5l pot sounded good, but they didn’t look very healthy at all and were reduced as the leaves were going yellow. We finally chose another type of Daphne that was also reduced to only £8 but looked way more healthy. 
Not finding a nice pot to put it in, we then tried 3 other garden centres on the way home before finding the perfect one. 
I couldn’t resist buying a lovely healthy Japanese anemone - I’ve had my eye on one for a while now. 

Grasslands also provided me with a quick phone shot of a small tortoiseshell on some buddleia. It was proving very popular with 4 Red Admirals and 2 small Tortoiseshells. I’ve not seen many of these at all this year. 

I’ll finish off catching up with all of your journals today I think. Sorry it’s taken me a while. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.