CameraHappy

By CameraHappy

Fragrant Memories

You could ask anyone in my family and they would tell you that I like all things fragrant - everything from nature's fresh mountain air and flowers to man-made scents found in perfumes and soaps. For today's Fragrant theme, I selected an empty perfume bottle. Fragrances bring back memories, warm and fond memories. Over a year ago my mom passed away and she had a bottle of perfume among her toiletries. I find it hard to part with this bottle of perfume because the scent reminds me of her.

As a young girl I loved the Evening in Paris scent - maybe some of you remember the sapphire blue containers that held the talcum powder. I also enjoyed the flowers from our garden. Each Saturday after the chores were done, we would go out and cut fresh flowers for a bouquet on the table. Baby's breath and carrot tops provided the greenery for asters, snap dragons, gladiolas, sweet peas, peonies, and many more summer and fall flowers.

In this modern day there are fewer people who grow flowers, so I am always delighted to receive a gift from the florist shop! I do have a favorite scent called "Oui" pictured here; I wear it every day, not just on special occasions, the way most folks in my mother's generation did.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.