While on my runs

By waipushrink

A different bird

I felt very much the need for a break today. They would happily have me five days a week, and in fact they have had me work a couple of Fridays when we had a shortage of locums. I'm much happier with four days than five.

The young man with the digger and the foreman (in effect if not title) of the builders spent all morning and half the afternoon moving scoria from a pile, and later a second pile, to fill in behind the retaining wall, and then scoop clay over the top. We'll need to add soil later.

In the late afternoon, I had a brisk walk. On the side of the road I saw a Bird of Paradise plant with a couple of flowers. Makes a good blip.

At our request, the builders rescued a few Ponga tree ferns and the foreman planted them in holes the digger man dug with his digger. And then did another couple digging the holes with a spade. He went home a rather tired young man. I am very grateful as I know I couldn't do that now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.