Marionb

By Marionb

Back to Reality..

I had forgotten how hectic and busy life can be in the city..or at least being in one's own home after so many absences! I actually got out the calendar today in search of an answer as to why I am feeling so overwhelmed with home-ownership, gardening and everyday tasks...and I think I found the answer.. 

From the beginning of April, I have been home for 30 days..ie: in 5 months, I have been home for only one?..and in short spurts at that... so of course nothing has been attended to since last winter!  

And no wonder the pace of life here seems fast ..and noisy too! All that traffic noise, sirens, lawn mowers... yikes. Life at the cottage is so relaxed and ever so quiet..so laid-back...so peaceful...Coming home is a bit of a culture shock! 

So my first full day back was full...of household tasks - endless laundry, unpacking, an overdue dentist appointment, and then a meeting with Ian about deck repairs and gardening chores, and finally, sorting through and storing clothing as somewhere along the line, the season changed? Like when did that happen?

I only have a week here before returning up north again for my final cottage stay, so I feel the need to get a lot done before leaving..let's see how that turns out....heh heh. I need to focus and make a priority list or I will continue to be so distracted and overwhelmed by all those things that need my attention, that I won't accomplish anything! 

Relaxing with Maggie is high on that priority list; she likes her cat sitter Elaine and her dog, but really? Her best friend is a dog? She must get lonely.

For over 50 years, Elaine has lived next door and has always been like a second parent to my cats..so Maggie is used to her, but it's not like having someone in the house all the time..I am sure she is looking forward to having a person actually in residence! She will be relieved to know that that time is coming soon...very soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.