Bright and Beautiful

By ThingsBeautiful

A Quiet Place

to sit, in the walled garden at Hughenden National Trust today :)

The last time I visited was during Pandemic, when Disraeli wore a very modern mask!

Silly google maps went silent on me this morning, but I got all the way to Wycombe without it.  Then I stopped at a garage and fiddled, eventually ending up turning the phone off in disgust.  When I turned my phone on again - miraculously it worked, so after much driving I arrived!  Grrrr....

However, on the 'unmade road' on the way up, not only did I stop to let cows across me, but further up the hill all of a sudden the car just wouldn't go anywhere.  

I started panicking as its a single track road and I have an automatic - but thankfully it seemed to sort itself out again - no idea what was wrong.  It rather marred my visit because I'm worried I'd done some damage somehow...

Anyway, I went to the cafe and got a much needed coffee and my usual cheese scone.  I was  glad arrived when I did, because 5 minutes later, the queue was coming out the door - about 40 people just turned up and queueing - a coach trip.  

I went up to the house, and as it was open and I haven't visited before, I went in.  Its really interesting inside and very glad I made the effort.  I want to read up on some history now :)

They say you learn something new every day - today it was 'Floriography' - 'The Language of Flowers' dating back to the Victorian era.  There was a sign in the house about it and also a table dating back with flowers sealed inside glass - see extra :)

The grounds were so full of people, I was very glad to find a quiet spot afterward in the walled garden, where I sat in peace and quiet for about 20 minutes :):)

I popped to the local M&S food hall to get some dinner for tonight and tomorrow, as I've ordered an online delivery from Sainsburys but it can't be delivered before Monday - no slots left!

I'm so very thankful to be home again now :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.