MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Woody And the First Of My #IvyVisitors

I've posted this picture of a great spotted woodpecker as its tail feathers are fanned and it can be seen how smeared with green from algae and lichen they are. Woodpeckers use their tails almost like an extra limb to press against the tree to steady themselves when they're climbing. The bark of this ash tree is particularly messy as it's suffering from ash dieback disease.

It's the first day of September and the start of meteorological autumn. I've decided to set myself a challenge for the month. Ivy is just starting to come into bloom. The flowers are very popular with insects. I plan to post at least one creature on the ivy bush near my back door daily. While I'm shooting I will be able to chat to Mishka when she is in the bed underneath it which she dug recently. Today's image is a rather worn female holly blue butterfly which I think was ovipositing. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.