JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Hilltop lichen

A lot of the very old trees on the hilltop are thickly encrusted with lichen. I've been photographing them all month as my theme for the A Year with my Camera August thirty days of composition challenge, responding to a series of composition prompts which have encouraged me to look at many aspects of the trees and their setting. I've also been editing them all in black and white using Affinity while I have the free trial, which is about to expire. I've really enjoyed the black and white editing, but am not going to rush into buying Affinity immediately, I want to try one or two other things first; and I won't be giving up on colour either - I love the soft grey-green of this lichen and the yellow ochre of the less showy variety on the branch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.