Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Huddersfield A - Z - University

This is the reason I live in Huddersfield. In 1988 I was living in London, and my fiancé got an offer from Huddersfield Polytechnic (as it was then) to do his post-grad architect training. Height of the property boom in London, but you could still buy houses in Huddersfield for less than our credit card limit. I recall passing the estate agent details around the office in London, and listening to the gasps at properties selling for £12000. I got a job at an accountancy firm in Leeds and the die was cast.

The first time I set foot in Huddersfield, the annual Caribbean Carnival was taking place, the sun was beating down and I thought it was the most vibrant, wonderful place. 25 years later, the fiancé is long gone but I am still here.

I was dithering about which shot to pick - I like the reflections of the old sandstone building in this one , but the greenery won the day.

Huddersfield University has the captain of the Starship Enterprise as its Chancellor - not many can say that!

Here is a sunny day higher education tune.

Off to Honley Show in the sunshine, happy weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.