tempus fugit

By ceridwen

When the tide goes out

When the equinoctial tides are stretched to their extremes I'm  drawn to visit the shoreline underworld that's exposed twice a day. In particular the ancient fish traps that lie either side of Fishguard Bay. Shaped like ticks or more correctly the 'swoosh' logo of a well-known brand of sportswear, they were once used to corral fish as the falling tide swept out. Now they are no more than loose stones surrounded by flounces of thick seaweed  but once these would have been banked up and, with the addition of brushwood,  made solid enough  to detain the fish sufficiently long for them to be scooped up into baskets and aprons.

What's so fascinating for me is that the same kind of tidal fish traps were used by coastal folk in prehistory and onwards all over the world  and still are in some parts.

I've blipped this one before and the one on the other side here.
 (I know I am a bit obsessed!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.