Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

Notbananas.

Banana Shallots.
In the past I, have, occasionally, tried planting the odd one of Alice's; never with any success.  I've even heard, from a dubious source, that it couldn't be done, though I wonder if it's just another rumour I've heard - that vendors treat veg in such a way as to prevent/slow down sprouting. 
     Last year I bought some intended for planting, albeit a touch too late; behold the result - one did, five didn't and they ARE tiny; but, bearing in mind the following, it is a start as it's well before November - we shall see?

"Plant the sets 10" (25cm) apart in rows 16" (40cm) apart from mid-November to mid-March. Gently push them into soft, well-worked soil so that the tip is just showing and firm the soil around them."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.