GiselaClaire

By GiselaClaire

European Israel

I watched the Eurovision on my laptop, meaning that I was deprived the wit of both Marty Whelan and Graham Norton, two Irishmen who do the commentary for the Irish and British broadcasters respectively. However, frequent texts from my brother in Ireland with his ascerbic observations more than made up for it.

It always amuses me how some of the countries included in the Eurovision do not seem to be European at all. The requirements for eligibility seems to be fairly arbitrary. I was particularly amused this year to watch the representative from Israel give their points from Tel Aviv, just up the road, when I'm sure none of the countries surrounding Israel would ever be considered.

Luckily, they have Arab Idol and Arab's Got Talent instead. A local boy from Gaza City, Mohammed Assaf, is creating waves in Arab Idol this year, and is a favourite to win. Meanwhile, my gorgeous friend Nivene, who I previously blipped about, is preparing to travel to Lebanon to sing for the judges, having gotten through to the next round in Arab's Got Talent.

Back to the Eurovision, however, and poor Ireland placed last, rather unfairly I thought. No man is an island, they say, but when it comes to voting in the Eurovision, Ireland definitely is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.