One way traffic

By Mobius

Save

..The Bees

Circa 47 people involved today in todays march in Hucknall where the constituency office of Mark Spencer is very discretely hidden away with a small sign. He's the Farming Minister who's extended approval to use neonicotinoids on sugar beet which is harmful to bees, for a third year in a row now.

 The 19 strong samba troupe banging away on drums made it a real carnival atmosphere as were marched through the town centre. I was dancing the whole time, when I wasn't handing out leaflets, or getting our petition signed.

Some street theatre at the end. We had two facing rows of 4 people holding yellow flowers and 8 of us acting as bees, with our bug headgear. We weaved and danced around the flowers to the sound of The flight of the bumblebee, until the guy in the jump sprayed the flowers with pesticide, when we slowly died. I'm the one with my legs and arms up (held em up the longest) in the extra.

I wore my mask over my face the whole time, even when singing - such a strong image. I only bumped into bollards or people a few times! We got good feedback on our 3 part harmonies in our 3 songs.

Great speech by our leader at the end.

I only took the first two extras - too busy and lovin livin in the moment most of the time.

Rimsky Korsakov  - Flight of the Bumble Bee

You may be able to access the local press coverage (to date) below..

https://www.nottinghampost.com/news/local-news/extinction-rebellion-campaigners-dressed-bees-8722956

Exhausted afterwards, but buzzing with the fun and good thing that we'd done.
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.