Corridor

Perhaps this looks attractive enough as an out-of-context image, but despite all the nice timber details and the sunlight streaming in, this corridor which joins the rooms of St Cecilia's ward in the Mater Hospital isn't such a pleasant place when it becomes the centre of your little personal world.

Today went especially boringy, despite all my best efforts to relieve it by reading, dozing, and listening to music. Things got even more upsetting by the time evening arrived, because of the tantalising glimpses through the window of bright blue sky and glorious evening sunshine.

I had a bit of a false alarm this morning. I'd been warned to let the nurses know if I experienced chest pain, and I'd been given a routine to follow: use my nitro spray, lie down on the bed and relax, and wait for the nurse to check my blood pressure at more regular intervals than usual. I did all that when I woke with pain, but when the nurse came round half an hour later and the pain was still there, she called the on-duty doctor, who got t work with his stethoscope and did and ECG and took blood samples. In the end he told me that what I was experiencing wasn't heart related, and that he suspected it was muscular, brought on y whatever way I'd slept.

Lunch was a low light. I'd asked for minced beef, which was okay. The problem was the utterly unappetising lump of green strngeness which kept it company on the plate. I played with it a bit, and tried mixing it into the mince, but none of that made it any more palatable. The food, I'm afraid, is yet another department where the Mater falls behind Beaumont.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.