FoundWanting

By FoundWanting

Punch purchase

Visited the flea market on Schrederwiesen near Fasanerie in Munich today. It only opens for 6 hours on a Saturday and is run as a charity.

Each time I go there it appears better organised. "Organised is good" you say. To me organised is frustrating and potentially expensive, as it is easier to find things and harder to leave them where I found them! To this end, I purposely do not take too much money into this establishment as I would be leaving with armfuls of tat to add to the tat in our already tat ridden tene-tatty-ment.

On this occasion I spotted and allowed myself purchase of the book as seen in the extras. The accompanying cover I had saved from the 29 August 1984 edition.

Punch was one of my favourite magazines in the 1980‘s despite its declining readership at the time. It ran from 1841 until 1992. An attempted resurrection by Mohamed al Fayed lasted from 1996 until it finally sank beneath the waves of neo satire and culling management in 2002.

"Malcolm Muggeridge, who stepped down as editor 35 years ago (as of March 2014!), said at the time: 'There is no occupation more miserable than that of trying to make the English laugh."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.