If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Hart's Tongue Fern ( Asplenium scolopendrium )

A quiet, lazy Sunday morning.  In the afternoon we went to the Lodge to start winding the Wildflower Meadow down for the winter.  Today's project was to mow the access paths at the top and bottom of the bank.  I keep a clear path at the top and bottom and up the slope so that if needed I can get to parts without trampling on the flowers.

The next thing facing me is to strim the long vegetation, leave it for a couple of days to allow any seeds to drop, then remove it.  Wildflowers do best on poor soil, leaving the cutting there would add nutrient.

After that I will mow it (close cut) and scatter new seed to make the number of flowers greater next spring (hopefully).

Back home looking for a blip the pattern of the sori on the Hart's tongue Ferns caught my eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.