JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

The lane up the hill

Another brisk walk up the hill at teatime: this is part of the last section of the lane which starts across the road from our house and climbs the side of the valley to the hilltop wood and meadow where I've taken many photographs this summer. Lower down, there are houses on the right and gaps in the hedgerow give views of meadows to the left; a little higher up, it flattens and, after the gateway into the lone hilltop house, becomes a muddy track which continues through the wood. The climb up the hill has become my regular respite and exercise. If I don't stop to take too many photos, it takes a little over twenty minutes up and down again, about 2,100 steps. It's steep, and I try to do it reasonably briskly without too many stops, but I've done too little exercise for too many years of teaching and caring and left it rather late to start trying to improve my fitness. However, although it's too short a walk to make a lot of difference to my physical health, it certainly helps my peace of mind, and the mindful observation which goes with photography has been a big part of this.

Friday's photos are still to follow when I get round to editing some of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.