Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Best Laid Plans

I had thought to head to Thursley Nature Reserve in the search of birds, heathland and perhaps some late flying dragons, but decided to stop off at Waverley Abbey for my picnic lunch.

As is becoming usual, I had a sketch book and watercolours pencils to hand and after a slow start (and several restarts) eventually managed to sketch some of the abbey ruins to my reasonable satisfaction.  By the time I had "finished" it was too late for Thursley, so I just meandered back to the car along the lake in front of nearby Waverley Abbey House.

To my delight, there were still some dragons and damselflies flitting across the lake and I even manage to catch some in flight, so at least some of the plan came to fruition!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.