AMK49

By AMK49

AA box

Driving home from Morayshire I had to stop on the road to Grantown-on- Spey to blip this old AA phone box on the roadside. Somewhere I have the AA key to one of these that I got in 1969 when I joined the AA long before you could contact them with an app on a mobile phone - it was all because one morning as I headed to the Dick Vet the fuel pump in my VW beetle packed up near the top of Leith Walk in Edinburgh and I pushed the car across the junction to the area in front of the Post Office till I summoned help. The garage suggested I join the AA which probably helped the costs for a poor student and I doubt I could have abandoned it where I did these days ! 

The extra was taken just after we left Findhorn in the greenhouse of one of Mrs AMK’s old school mates that we met up with on Saturday evening. T was obviously a character at school who once traumatised my poor wife by having his pet ferrets in a bag beside his desk immediately in front of her at primary school.! 

What a lovely man he is and he insisted we call in to get tomatoes from his greenhouses- a business that was started by his grandfather who famously developed the well know tomato variety Ailsa Craig still popular with growers over a hundred years later.
He filled a large box with the most delicious tomatoes and threw in a jar of  honey from his bee hives. T is still a real character and I look forward to meeting him again at the reunion next September if we are all spared.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.