Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Flyer

Travel conditions must have looked favorable this morning because there are definitely fewer hummingbirds in the garden today.  I saw one adult male this morning but haven't seen him since and the feeder activity has slowed down noticeably.  It always makes me a little sad when they start leaving.  They bring a certain energy and joy to the garden while they are here and leave it feeling strangely empty when they start leaving.  

I released my second two monarchs this morning, both for our own SimpleMoments in memory of her sister and her father.  Things are moving quickly now in the nursery and it looks like I will release my last two at the end of September or beginning of October.  The butterfly activity in my garden is definitely down this summer, and that includes monarchs.  I am not sure how many I have in the nursery right now, but probably no more than 30.  

Hubs has a goal to ride 200 miles on his bike this month to raise money for the Alzheimers Assn in his mother's memory.  He's already at nearly 50 miles so hitting his target won't be any problem.  He went out with one of the local clubs this morning and did 25 miles.  And while he was doing that, I was pottering around out back while it was still cool.  

Our humidity went up today and is going to be in the 70% range all week with a few days over 80% - probably our last blast of summer weather before things start to gradually cool down and become less humid.  I should never complain about our humidity when I look at places like Texas and Florida!  

Salmon on the menu tonight along with fresh grilled veggies from a local farm.  Can't beat that!

And dark with blood orange again today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.